The People’s Republic of Helena – A Kickstarter Manifesto


Linda Vernon:

Welcome Dear Readers! Today, I want to reblog this book publishing manifesto by Helena Hann-Basquiat who will soon be releasing a book of collected blog posts entitled Helena Hann-Basquiat’s Memiors of a Dilettante Volume One explaining just how she is taking steps to reach a wider audience for her writing. I think you’ll find it as interesting and entertaining as I did.

Originally posted on Being the Memoirs of Helena Hann-Basquiat, Dilettante:

I met Jim Squires (real name: Jim Squires) a few years ago at a comic book store on Queen Street in Toronto. I was searching for one of the last issues I was missing from Warren Ellis’ Authority — I was going through my “Hey, let’s try bookbinding” phase, and I was trying to get the complete series. I caught Jim looking down my top and gave him a sly smile, which caused him to turn an adorable shade of cherry red. In his defence, I was wearing a shirt with the provocative caption THESE BOOBS ARE MADE FOR WATCHING printed on it (no, seriously — I had it custom made), so I didn’t hold it against him. He only wishes I had. This was back before Mrs. Jim was in the picture of course, and I swear, nothing happened between us (you really don’t want to get on Mrs…

View original 785 more words

4 thoughts on “The People’s Republic of Helena – A Kickstarter Manifesto

  1. omg you have a canadian in you? I’m so sorry! The roads can be so treacherous where you are. I would have written a get well card if I had known. You simply must come over for spring! Please bring spring with you when you come. England is that much less shined upon without your rays.
    I haven’t heard from the ray twins for months! Have you? Dont worry about money. I’ve taken lesons in being bohemian.

Please leave a comment. I need help finishing my sentences.

