Breakfast Confabulation of 1937


I got this picture out of a 1937 cookbook that I found at my local thrift store.  So I worte a little story about it using 1930’s slang.  Hope you enjoy it.

Watching you eat is Aces! You’re cute as a bug’s ear . . .

Ha ha! Well, I certainly didn’t get flimflammed when I married a tomato like you! But you’re plate’s empty . . . what gives?

Oh I’ll eat later with the dog.  I’m just content to sit here and smile at you while you eat a hearty breakfast consisting of breakfast dishes men like — that I thought up using my wifely wisdom.

That’s all wet.  Tomorrow I want you to eat your breakfast at the breakfast table see? You’re a doll even if you are always bumping your gums.

What are you trying to say?  That you made a brodie marrying me?

Well you gotta admit, you’re kind of a crumb.

Well!  I should have know better than to marry a cinder dick.

Listen broad, being employed as  railroad detective is better than squat, isn’t it?

OK, OK, don’t blow your wig, I’m not sore.

You and me both, kitten.

I know! Why don’t I get on the blower and make reservations at the speakeasy, and we’ll knock back a couple slugs of snazzy hooch.

You shread it, wheat! You know something?

What?

When I look into those baby-blue pies of yours I can’t help thinking what a swell dame you are.

Thanks a heap, I’m sure.

18 thoughts on “Breakfast Confabulation of 1937

  1. Ok, I read some of this at some ungodly time this morning and obviously my brain wasn’t working cause I love the word play and didn’t have trouble following this time – Oh sorry I guess there is no ungodly hour on Sunday. Or maybe … you are so clever with these scenaros and the way you use the words – pun, Coolness and great fun!
    Peace 🙂

    • This is one of those examples where I get a litte carried away. HA! I should have explained what I was doing. It’s so funny the way Peanuts thinks everybody knows exactly what I’m talking about! (I’m so glad I have my brain, Peanuuts to blame things on — it’s quite handy) So I don’t blame you for now figuring it out on Sunday’s ungodly godly hour. So I added a little explanation ot the post. 🙂

      • Oh but I love it and the picture is actually good explanation too. Yes the brain is a great thing to blame. I do it often too. I reread something I wrote awhile back and realized I didn’t know what I was talking about anymore lol. Peanuts keeps you on your toes lol.
        Peace 🙂

  2. Yowza! I love this post! I think my favorite posts of yours have to do with using any kind of vintage magazine picture and/or current issue of Pottery Barn.

  3. This is how the Thin Man movie series dialogue would’ve been if Nick had eggs for breakfast instead of drinking something out of a high-ball. 🙂

    • Well, I’m totally impressed that you’ve watched the Thin Man. I’ll bet there aren’t very many people your agae who have ever seen it. I have a box set. I love them very much!

      • Linda – those are some of my favorite movies! I enjoyed Dashiell Hammett’s writing and just adored the movies (which I saw for the first time just a few years ago). To me, they hold up to the test of time. Funny, stylish and a classic who-dun-it? Plus you have to love that Nick will punch Nora in the face to knock her down and away from a bullet. Now that’s love.

Please leave a comment. I need help finishing my sentences.